My Big Fat Green Wedding

I love green! I love chartreuse, kelly green, mint, and olive. I love seeing spinach and broccoli on my plate. I love pearly green punch buggies. I love my green contacts. I also love green weddings. I’ve wanted one every since I found out they exist. So I’ve been having images of green wedding in my head as I dream about the possibilities.

Source

Well that’s pretty but it’s not exactly the green wedding I had in mind. More like this:

Source

Can you tell the difference? I didn’t want the color green, I wanted eco-friendly green. I know little ‘ole me cannot make all the difference in the world, but I try in as many ways as I can to help keep the earth thriving. I figure if one person gets inspired and tries then I made a difference, and maybe they’ll inspire someone and so on. So a green wedding is a great way for me to make a small difference and since being green is contagious I can hopefully infect (er, inspire) a large group of people. Another advantage of being green is I can incorporate my love of nature. There are two places I love the most, the beach and the woods and having a celebration there would make me nothing but happy. I’m so excited about using wood and other elements from nature. I did plenty, plenty research on green weddings so I could learn all the ways I could possibly be green and choose what could fit us. On Weddingbee, Mrs.Cherry Pie gave me a great start and Mrs. Pino Noir helped me appreciate my (half) destination wedding could still be green. So here’s how I plan to be green:

LOCATION

  1. For the Bahamas wedding we plan to have the ceremony and reception at one place. Either at a restaurant, private beach or the national park.
  2. We plan to have the Virginia (AHR) Reception at a park.

WEDDING ATTIRE

  1. Instead of buying a new dress I plan to revamp my mother’s first wedding dress and one of her prom dresses to create my own memorable dress.
  2. The requirements for the other members of the family/bridal party attire are that it must be either reused or purchased new with the intent of re-wearing. Hopefully no one will spend more than $150 on their attire.

PAPER PRODUCTS

  1. We plan to buy recycled paper as much as possible. Response options can be either postcards (with no envelope) or responding online.
  2. We hope to create a detailed website to avoid having to use extra paper to give guests details not everyone will need.

FOOD AND TABLEWARE

  1. Buying used with the hope of reusing or reselling will be my first choice if renting is not the cheaper option.
  2. We plan to not have styrofoam, plastic or paper products if at all possible to reduce what’s thrown in the trash. For the Bahamas reception we will purchase bamboo/leaf plates, wood utensils and use cloth napkins. For the Virginia reception I will try to collect patterned china from family members, thrift stores and craigslist. I hope to use real glasses or cups of recycled materials for both events.
  3. I would love to find different patterned cloth napkins to later turn into a quilt.
  4. I hope to collect wine bottles, glass jars and tin cans to use for decor and food storage.
  5. As much as possible the menus will consist of local foods.

FLOWERS

  1. Flowers will be used as little as possible and if used will be local grown or potted plants.
  2. Décor, bouquets and boutonnieres will consist of sola wood flowers, seashells, feathers and fabric.
  3. No birdseed or alternatives will be thrown

GIFTS AND FAVORS

  1. Since it’s a destination wedding and were looking for guests presence and not presents we plan to not register for tons of things I mostly have since I’m established in my home.
  2. Gifts for wedding party members will be gifts they will get use out of.
  3. Favors will be edible or reusable so guests will get the most benefit out of them
  4. Because it’s a half destination wedding, guests flying will contribute to global warming via the carbon dioxide. It would be great to give each guest an 11-watt compact fluorescent bulb to replace a 50-watt incandescent bulb with their wedding favor will save 685 pounds of carbon dioxide. (Tip found in: Sierra Club Magazine‘s interview with an environmental studies and biology professor from Oberlin, Ohio)

PROGRAMS AND MENUS

  1. Individual menus will not be necessary. We will display options for guest on one sign, maybe a chalkboard.
  2. Programs will be made with recyclable material and hopefully be a keepsake to save them trash.

Towards the end of planning I hope to have accomplished all these goals! Are you planning to be green in your wedding planning or daily life?

 

 

Leave a Reply

